Leixlip Civic Awards are presented

LEIXLIP: 30 May 2001: by Bill Trapman. Dr Ena Hanlon was given this year's Civic Achievement Award by Leixlip Town Commission, mainly for her work in trying to get hospice services for the North Kildare area.

"She is best known as a local doctor as part of a very longstanding and caring local medical practice," Commission chairwoman Cllr Catherine Murphy said at the awards ceremony. "Through her work she has seen at first-hand the need for hospice services to be located in the North Kildare area and she has been to the forefront in her commitment to getting such services."

Dr Hanlon has long been involved with parish matters and is a member of the committee which is currently fundraising for a Parish Centre. She is also a Minister of the Eucharist and assists with the Parish Shop.

Other awards included the winning of the Cultural Achievement award by the organisers of Open Zone, a monthly musical gig operated by Pat Dunne, Sean O'Connell, Ciaran Oman, and Mick Major.The music at the event ranges from traditional to rock and everything in between but the one thing all music types have in common at the gig is the emphasis on the original.
"The Cultural Achievement is not just awarded for the events that have been organised so far, successful and all that they have been, but its also awarded for having an idea and making it happen and bringing such fun the enthusiasm to the endeavour," Cllr Murphy said.

The award for Young Person of the Year went to Sarah Newman from Ryevale Lawns who had yet another very successful year on the tennis court both at home and abroad despite picking up a leg injury.

She started playing tennis when she was nine years old and last year as a transition year student in Colaiste Chiarain she travelled all over Europe picking up points in ranking tournaments.

As well as having won the National Ranking Tournament and being runner up in the National Indoor championship, she travelled across Europe playing in tournaments in Lithuania, Belgium, Luxembourg, Croatia, Hungary and France. Her international ranking went into the top 100.

Last year she also won the Leinster Open and doubles event at Fitzwilliam in the Junior Irish Open. She was also selected to play for Leinster in the Under 18 Interprovincial tournament which needless to say Leinster won.

Her injury forced her out of play for a number of months at the start of this year and the Leaving Cert. has also curtailed her play.

The Business Achievement went to Philip Blake, who runs a local Pharmacy and has done for ten years. "It's for the back-up provided to families who are caring for terminally ill relatives at home," Cllr Murphy noted in the citation. "It is the combination of business with thought and compassion at the most distressing of times that is the kind of commitment the Leixlip Town Commissioners are proud to honour."

The Social Achievement of the Year went to the meals on Wheels operation in recognition of the 24years of dedicated service to the community.

"There are about 50 volunteers at any given time and I am told they cater for 22 people at present, serving a over 3000 meals in a year," Cllr Murphy noted. "This voluntary service is mainly run by local women and caters for both Leixlip and Confey, and a vital contribution to the service is Leixlip GAA Club who provide the Cooking Facilities and finance is provided by the people of Leixlip."

The Sporting Achievement of the year went to the Ladies GAA Team at Confey GAA Club

The foundation stone for this team was laid in 1990 when the first signs of a Ladies Structure emerged in Confey GAA. Some of the team tasted success for the first time in 1996 on the Under 14 and Under 16 winning sides that year.

"I am told that Under 14 side forms the nucleus of today's Ladies Team," Cllr Murphy said. "The award this year is in recognition of the time, dedication and skill that went into reaching the All Ireland Intermediate Final over the year."

The award was accepted by the captain of the team, Deirdre Gately, and Mick Sweeney, chairperson of the ladies committee.