Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

July 30, 2012

Strong line-up for TDP Time-Attack series at Mondello

TDP Round 6 of the 'Trackday Performance' backed Irish Time-Attack championship takes place on Monday August 6th on the Mondello Park International Track. The series which is backed by Wicklow based Tuning and Race Preparation specialists Track Day Performance, continues to attract increasing entries, and with the high profile championship finale approaching, a strong line-up is expected.

Round 5 took place on the National Circuit running as part of a car race event for the first time in three years, but the sixth event of the season will return to sharing with a Car Track Day for the final time this year. the championship finale, Round 7, will see a swap back to the shorter National Track and it will be part of the biggest Modified Car event of the season, Mondello Jap-Fest.

Going into the penultimate championship encounter, Robbie Thronton leads the Unlimited Championship with only fellow Evo driver, Paul Molloy, capable of catching him. Such is Thornton's advantage however, that a strong result at round 6 could give him the championship with one round left to run.

Things are much closer in the remaining two divisions. In the Pro Championship, Honda Civic drivers, David Quille and Philip Wright are locked together at the top, separated by just three points with Brian Fitzpatrick's Civic not out of the running in third. Gordon Dunne and Nigel Maguire are chasing the 'Club' title, with Dunne's Starlet currently leading the way from Civic mounted Maguire.

Time-Attack will share the track at Round 6 with a Car Track Day and will be on track for four sessions over the course of the day. Two qualifying sessions will followed by two finals, an 'Open' Final where drivers can complete as many laps as the wish and a single lap 'Superlap' session, where drivers get just one opportunity to set a time. Points are on offer for all sessions with the Superlap Final being the one where the bulk of the points are awarded.

For further information on Time-Attack see