Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

October 14, 2013

Rallycross Championship set for Quick-Fire Conclusion

RallycrossThe 2012/2013 Irish Rallycross Championship heads into its final stages this weekend at Mondello Park, with Sunday's round six being run by the Carlow Car Club. Following a long summer break the eight round series will be completed with a quick-fire run of three events within five weeks, finishing with round eight on November 24th.

The Irish Rallycross Championship is currently undergoing a switch from being a Winter championship to running over a calendar year. The current series has been running since October 2012 and following the final three rounds of the 2012/13 series the new championship will begin in February.

Subaru Impreza mounted Andrew Morris is the current leader of the Supercar standings, closely followed by three drivers, John Kelly, Declan Kelly and Thomas O'Rafferty. Morris has a five point lead over John Kelly with his Mitsubishi Evo, while four points further back, Declan Kelly and Thomas O'Rafferty are locked together in joint third place with their Ford Fiesta Supercars. With twenty points for a win these four, along with Subaru driver Paul Pascoe, can all still lift the title.

The Modified Division, for two wheel drive cars, is a little more clear cut with Lotus driver Ian O'Connell well clear of Willie Coyne's Opel Corsa and Pearse Browne's BMW Compact. The Stockhatch Division continues to be the best supported class, although the cars now run in two separate races, for 16 Valve and 8 Valve cars. The 16 Valve class is lead by highly experienced, ex Touring Car racer, Eoin Murray, while Stockhatch stalwart Noel O'Brien heads the 8 Valve category.

Of the remaining divisions the new Kart Cross class has been the biggest success with some very close and spectacular racing and nine drivers scoring points so far. William Bolster leads the series from Ian Barrett with these two using their experience from other forms of racing to head the field which is mainly made up of circuit racing newcomers.

The Rallycar class is currently headed by Patrick Donoghue who has a healthy lead from Peter O'Brien while the Junior Rallycross standings are lead by Sophie Byrne from Dylan Curley.

This weekend's event will include the introduction of the latest new Irish Rallycross initiative, the Civic Rallycross Challenge. Two examples of the very neat and attractive new car will be on display at the event where they will be given their competition début as part of the build up to the introduction of a dedicated Honda Civic series in 2014. For this weekend the cars will run with the 8 Valve Stockhatch class, for which they are also eligible.

Sunday’s Rallycross will be run over three heats which will decide the positions for the finals. Heats one and two will take place before lunch, with the afternoon action being made up of the third run of heats and all of the finals. Adult admission is €10 with under 16's admitted free of charge.