Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

February 04, 2009

Irish Rallycross Championship Opens New Mondello Season


A field of more than eighty drivers will line up for the first Rallycross action of the new season at Mondello Park this Sunday. The Carlow Car Club’s 2009 opener, which is round five of the 08/09 championship has attracted a better than expected entry with seven Rallycross Supercars expected to line out and strong entries in all classes.

Late entries for Derek Jobb and Kyle Orr have boosted the quality and quantity of the Supercar field to its highest level since the opening round of the championship back in October. Local driver Eddie Kinirons and young gun Kyle Orr with their WRC Focus’s will be the main opposition for former champion Jobb whose ageing Escort is still the class of the field. Also on the grid will be the returning Andrew and Michael Morris driving Celica and Impreza Supercars and Paul Pascoe with the other ex Morris Subaru.

The modified division continues to be the preserve of the Coyne brothers. While Michael and Willie are tied at the head of the championship points Brendan is not having such a good season and has only picked up one points scoring finish so far. Aside from their divisional success this season, the two Coyne's are also the strongest challenger to Derek Jobb in the overall championship, with Willie second overall and Michael third.

The Stockhatch entry despite a small reduction in numbers is still the strongest class numerically and the battle for honours is also the closest. Behind class leader Julian Godfrey there is three way tie for second place between Noel O’Brien, Michael Duke and Robert Critchley with O’Brien holding sway courtesy of him being the only driver other than Godfrey to have won an event this season.

Age restrictions in the Jondol Junior championship mean that the ever improving John Quinn Jnr. can no longer take the battle to Daniel O’Brien making the UK visitor an odds-on favourite to take the title. Quinn has now graduated to the Rallycar class which should leave O’Brien to win as he pleases. Behind him the battle will be as hot as ever with Padraig Leeson, Sam Kinirons and Mark Francis likely to be the closest challengers.

As is usual with Carlow Car Club Rallycross events a strong Rallycar field ahs also been assembled with twelve cars split over two classes. The event gets underway with the first run of heats at 10:15 and the finals are set to start at 15:30.

Event details

Sunday February 8th
Motorsport Ireland National Rallycross Championship 08/09 Round 5
Mondello Park, Naas, County Kildare
Racing starts at 10.00
Adult admission €15, accompanied under 16s free.

09:15  Practice Commences
09:45  Practice Finishes
10:00  Heats Run 1
11:30  Heats Run 2
13:00  Lunch Break
13:30  Heats Run 3 

15:00  Finals