Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

July 11, 2011

Drifting Stars Make 1st Mondello Appearance of the Year

drifting at Mondello Ireland's premier Drifting championship, Prodrift, will make its first of two 2011 stops at Mondello Park, on July 16th and 17th, for Round 4 of the 2011 Irish Drifting Series. The event will feature practice and qualifying on the Saturday and the championship event on Sunday. Also on the bill will be round 4 of the 2011 Irish Time-Attack championship and a host of additional attractions.

This event will be the first Prodrift round at Mondello Park to feature a clockwise course with a 100mph course entry. The course will run from Dunlop corner down the main straight and then through Turn 1 and Adelaide Corner (Turn 2). Drivers will be pushed to their limits as they battle it out for valuable championship points. This course will be much longer than the one usually used, and will see the cars pass the main straight grandstand at speed rather than finishing there.

Alongside the main event Round 4 of the Irish Time Attack championship will also take place. The Mondello Park organised championship for modified road cars will be on track for three sessions. The first two will be qualifying while the final one will decide the results with a drivers single fastest lap in this session being the only one to count. Off-track and in between the drifting and time-attack sessions there will be plenty for drifting fans to see with Trade-stands, Car Clubs and show cars, Prodrift Academy passenger rides, freestyle and team drift all featuring at this great day-out.

Saturday July 16th Adult Admission €10
Sunday July 17th Adult Admission €20
Under 12's Are admitted FOC on both days


Saturday 16th
09.00 Prodrift Amateur Open Practice
10.30 Prodrift Semi-Pro Open Practice
12.00 Prodrift Semi Pro Top 32 Qualifying
14.15 Prodrift Pro Practice
15.00 Prodrift Semi Pro Top 32
17.15 Prodrift Pro Practice

Sunday 17th
09.00 Prodrift Open Practice
10.00 Time-Attack Qualifying 1
11.30 Prodrift Qualifying
12.30 Time-Attack Qualifying 2
13.00 Prodrift SuperLap
13.45 Time-Attack Final
14.15 Drifting Displays & Academy Passenger Rides
15:00 Prodrift Top 16

For more information on Drifting and the Mondello Park event see the Prodrift web site,

For information on the Mondello Park Irish Time-Attack championship see