Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

April 27, 2011

Bank Holiday Monday at the Curragh Racecourse

Curragh Racecourse THE Starspangledbanner EBF Athasi Stakes and the High Chaparrel EBF Mooresbridge Stakes are the twin features at the Curragh on Bank Holiday Monday and champion trainer Aidan O’Brien is well represented in both Group Three contests.

The Ballydoyle-based handler has five of the 11 entries in the Mooresbridge Stakes and most notable among the quintet is So You Think. The five-year-old, a multiple Grade One winner in his native Australia and third in the Melbourne Cup, was rated the best stayer in the world in last year’s Thoroughbred Rankings and it will be very interesting to see how he gets on here.

O’Brien has also entered Await The Dawn, Grand Admiral, Jan Vermeer and Windsor Palace for the 10 furlong race. Await The Dawn is rated 120 and is highly regarded by connections. Lightly raced, the son of Giants Causeway was most impressive when landing a Group Three prize by nine lengths at Leopardstown last September. The Tom Tate-trained Distant Memories, Termagant and recent Leopardstown scorer Famous Name are other notable entries for what promises to be a most informative race.

There are 22 entries for the Athasi Stakes, including two from Britain in Agony And Ecstasy and Ladies Are Forever. Aidan O’Brien is responsible for five of those entries and he can choose between Ballroom, Look At Me, Together, Wild Wind and Misty For Me. The latter, however, is likely to miss the race as she is an intended runner in Sunday’s Newmarket 1,000 Guineas. Other notable entries for the seven furlong contest are course specialist Lolly For Dolly, the unbeaten Chrysanthemum and the Dermot Weld-trained Emulous.

David Wachman has got his season off to a flyer and he looks to have a strong hand in the Listed Dylan Thomas EBF Tetrarch Stakes with Imperial Roma and Secret Story both of which have already won this year. Alexander Pope, Misty For Me, High Ruler and Oracle also give their trainer Aidan O’Brien a strong representation in the seven furlong contest, while Dubawi Star and Zabarakad (John Oxx), Defining Year (Michael Halford), Font Of Wisdom (Dermot Weld) and Glor Na Mare (Jim Bolger) are other notable entries in a competitive heat.