Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

November 14, 2008

Kildare Garda Division Changes Operational in New Year


The new Garda Division for Kildare is currently being established and will come into force on the 1st of January according to local Fianna Fail TD Áine Brady.

“A three District Division has been approved by the Garda Commissioner. Naas District will be realigned to comprise of Naas, Clane, Robertown, Kilcullen, Kill and Ballymore Eustace.”

“Kildare District will include Kildare, Newbridge, Athy, Rathangan, Monasterevin, Castledermot and Balitore. This District will loose Carbury to Leixlip and Robertown to Naas but will take over Athy and Castletowndermot sub-districts from Carlow.”

“Leixlip District will be made up of Leixlip, Celbridge, Maynooth, Kilcock and Carbury. This is a new district in Kildare.”

“I am confident that these changes will ensure a more effective policing service for Kildare.”

“It was necessary to change the way in which Kildare was policed as the population has grown so quickly in recent years. Population has increased by over 40% since 1996 and almost 14% between 2002 and 2007.”

“While these District changes are welcome, I have also written to the Commissioner to request that Leixlip station be open on a 24 hour basis to reflect the population there and the local need. I have lobbied for this change over a long time and remain convinced that it must happen as a matter of priority,” concluded Deputy Brady.