Skip links and go to Page Content

County Kildare News


News Menu

News Archive


Advertise Here

October 30, 2012

Community Award Winners 2012 - Pride of Place

Pride of Place and Tidy Towns Awards Night

Prize-winners gathered at Áras Chill Dara, Naas this evening (24.10.2012) to reap the fruits of their work in the County Kildare Pride of Place and Tidy Towns Competitions.  Kildare County Council hosted a prize-giving ceremony for the winners who included young people, gardeners, residents associations and Tidy Towns committees from across the county.

Mayor Micheál “Spike” Nolan presented the prizes.  He thanked the groups and individual citizens who had taken part for their work and achievements in their neighbourhoods.

This is the eighteenth year of the competition for tidy local authority housing estates. Prizes were awarded for voluntary work, community involvement and environmental impact.  Nine prizes were awarded in the Best-Kept-Garden competition.

This is the tenth year of the county council’s special awards scheme for young people who make an outstanding contribution to community life. Every year Kildare Tidy Towns groups work tirelessly to ensure their communities are pleasant places to live.  Mayor Nolan acknowledged their effort and their results in the national Tidy Towns competition. This year there were 36 entrants, an increase of two on last year. In addition, Straffan became the first Kildare town to win the coveted Gold Medal in the competition.

2012 Community Awards

Pride of Place results 2012

Category 1 (1-20 Houses)
Winner:         Millview Milltown

2nd place:      Millrace Lawns Broadford

Category 2 (21-40 Houses)
Winner:         Rowanville Kildare

2nd place:      Wheatfield Ardclough

Category 3 (41-55 Houses)
Winner:         Park View Clane

2nd place:      St. Evin’s Park Monastervin (North End)

Category 4 (56 – 80 houses)
 Winner:        St. Patrick’s Park Kill

2nd place:      Coarsemoor Straffan

Category 5 (80 + houses)
Winner:         Avondale Leixlip

2nd place:      Churchview Suncroft

Developing Communities Category

Winner:         Moatview Kilmeade

2nd Place:      Woodside Park Kildare

3rd Place :    Ottomy Crescent, Grove & Drive Clane

Community Development Category

Winner :                  Ashgrove Derrinturn

Highly Commended for their work with young people: Castlefen Sallins

Best Newcomer:

Winner : Lakeside ParkNewbridge

Commended:         Mooretown DriveRathcoffey

                              St. Brigid’s Tce Sallins


Best Kept Gardens 2012

Margaret & Cyrill Reeves, 1166 Wheatfield Ardclough

Kevin & Rose Connolly, 2352 St Brigid’s tce Sallins

Philip Comerford, 50 Park View Clane

Daniel Delahunt, 1609 New Line Grove Kilmeade

Mary Mc Cormack, 1934 St. Dominic’s Park Newbridge

Joan White, 3553 Lakeside Newbridge

Tanya Ekhoize,13 Rosconnell Road SouthNewbridge

Tony Purcell, 3177 Avondale Kilcullen

Overall Winner

Paddy Carthy, 2338 St. Brigid’s Park Ballymore Eustace


Youth Endeavour Award Winners 2012

Jason Gahan, Oaklawns kilmeague

Joesph Hackett, Ashgrove Derrinturn

Christopher Morgan, Dara Park Newbridge

Stephen Corrigan, Wheatfield Ardclough Straffan

Thomas Grattan, St. Evin's park Monasterevin

Vivienne Kelly, Moatview Kilmeade

Cian Martin, Castlefen Sallins

Tidy Towns Awards

Gold medal winner
Straffan (and overall county award)

Silver medal winners
Kill (highly commended in county award)

Bronze medal winners
Rathangan (commended in county award)

Endeavour award for Kildare
(for greatest improvement in marks from 2011)


Tidy Towns Heroes award
Liam Murphy from (Robertstown)

Gum Litter Taskforce award