May 04, 2011

Ladder Competition Winners

Curragh Chess Club Ladder Competition Winners



1987 Brian Canavan
1988 Aiden Gregg
1989 Damien McCormick
1990 Mark McLoughlin
1991 Barry Jordan
1992 Brendan Duffy
1993 Hugh Peacock
1994 Martin Wallace
1995 Tom Bermingham
1996 Maurice Canavan
1997 Brian Tiernan
1998 Colm Kelly
1999 Tom Bermingham
2000 Brian Tiernan
2001 No competition
2002 No competition
2003 Richard Arundell
2004 Richard Arundell
2005 Mark McLoughlin
2006 Richard Arundell
2007 Mark McLoughlin
2008 Noel Lynch
2009 Noel Lynch
2010 Pearse Dunne
2011 Noel Lynch

2008 Club Championship

Congratulations to Noel Lynch who won the trophy for the first time this season. Noel scored a remarkable 11.5/12 to cap a great season. Noel was presented with the "Billy O'Connor perpetual Trophy by Billy O'Connor himself at the Annual General Meeting on Thursday 24th April 2008.

Noel & Billy 24.04.08.jpg

The Curragh Chess Club championship known as the Ladder Competition was first competed for in 1987. The trophy is called the Billy O'Connor Perpetual Trophy. The competition is run on a handicap basis based on the rating of the players. There is no draw for the competition and any player may challenge any other member present in the club to a match. The person who gains the most points during the season is declared the winner of the trophy.

 Chess Championship Trophy.JPG




Posted by mmcloughlin at 01:26 PM

May 30, 2009

30th Anniversary 1979 - 2009

The Curragh Chess Club recently celebrated its 30th anniversary. The club was founded in May 1979 and this was celebrated at the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 28 May.

Ladder Winner 2009 Noel & Billy.JPG

The Curragh Club championship was won by Noel Lynch for the second year in a row and he was presented with the Billy O'Connor Perpetual Trophy by Billy O'Connor himself, a founding member of the club.

2008/09 Season Report

Leinster Leagues

Heidenfeld Trophy Division 2: The team finished in 8th place and retain their position in this division.

O'Hanlon Cup - Division 4:  The team finished in 11th place and were relegated. Presently waiting the outcome of an appeal.

Team Competitions

Branagan Cup (For Div 1 & 2 Teams): Team knocked out by Elm Mount in Round 1.

William Brennan Trophy (For players rated under 1500): Defeated 3-2 in Semi-Final by Wicklow Chess Club.

Killane Shield (For Div 3-6 Teams): Defeated in Round 2.

2009/10 Season

The club will reopen on Thursday 3 September in the Curragh Library. Doors open 7.30 p.m. Newcomers are always welcome. Further details from

30 Anniv Martin v Brendan.JPG
Posted by mmcloughlin at 01:10 PM

May 10, 2004

Club Ladder Competition 2004

Website Picture 1.jpg
Richard Arundell in concentration against Peter Klompers

Richard Arundell won the 2004 club ladder competition remaining undefeated during the season. Going in to the last round, Richard needed to win to keep Noel Lynch from snatching the Billy O'Connor Perpetual Trophy from him on the last day. This was Richard's second victory in the tournament having won in 2003.

Website Picture 2.jpg
Noel Lynch and Mark McLoughlin

Posted by mmcloughlin at 08:30 AM