May 04, 2011

Ladder Competition Winners

Curragh Chess Club Ladder Competition Winners



1987 Brian Canavan
1988 Aiden Gregg
1989 Damien McCormick
1990 Mark McLoughlin
1991 Barry Jordan
1992 Brendan Duffy
1993 Hugh Peacock
1994 Martin Wallace
1995 Tom Bermingham
1996 Maurice Canavan
1997 Brian Tiernan
1998 Colm Kelly
1999 Tom Bermingham
2000 Brian Tiernan
2001 No competition
2002 No competition
2003 Richard Arundell
2004 Richard Arundell
2005 Mark McLoughlin
2006 Richard Arundell
2007 Mark McLoughlin
2008 Noel Lynch
2009 Noel Lynch
2010 Pearse Dunne
2011 Noel Lynch
2012 Pearse Dunne

2008 Club Championship

Congratulations to Noel Lynch who won the trophy for the first time this season. Noel scored a remarkable 11.5/12 to cap a great season. Noel was presented with the "Billy O'Connor perpetual Trophy by Billy O'Connor himself at the Annual General Meeting on Thursday 24th April 2008.

Noel & Billy 24.04.08.jpg

The Curragh Chess Club championship known as the Ladder Competition was first competed for in 1987. The trophy is called the Billy O'Connor Perpetual Trophy. The competition is run on a handicap basis based on the rating of the players. There is no draw for the competition and any player may challenge any other member present in the club to a match. The person who gains the most points during the season is declared the winner of the trophy.

 Chess Championship Trophy.JPG




Posted by mmcloughlin at May 4, 2011 01:26 PM