August 31, 2008

History of Curragh Chess Club

The Curragh Chess Club was founded in May 1979 by members of the Irish Defence Forces serving in the Curragh. The club registered with the Irish Chess Union and entered a team in the Leinster League gaining promotion from Division after its first season and have competed in the Leagues every year since its foundation. In 1980 Irish National Champion Eamon Keogh NM gave a simultaneous display to the club membership.

Chess Result 1980.JPG

The club's first premises were in the School of Signals in the former Curragh Boys National School. 

In the early 1990s the club relocated to the Curragh Library where the club is still located.  The Club was at its peak in the early 1990s with four teams competing in the Leinster Leagues.




The club won the O'Hanlon Cup - Division 3 in the 1992/93 season.

Curragh Team 1993 Website Version.jpg

The club struggled into the 21st Century with only a handful of members but held its position in Division 4 of the Leinster Leagues before increased membership since 2002 and promotion to Division 3 in 2003.

The club won Division 3 (Ennis Shield) in the 2005/06 season and gained promotion for the first time in its history to Division 2 (Heidenfeld Trophy) which it has retained since then. The club now has two teams in the Leinster Leagues, in Division 2 and Division 4.

Curragh Team 2006 Website Version.jpg

Today, the Club has two teams in the Leinster Leagues: one in Division 2 - Heidenfeld Trophy and one in Division 4 -O'Hanlon Cup. The club also participates in the annual Branagan Cups and Killane Shields.

The club continues to meet on Thursday nights in the Curragh library and is made up primarily of non military personnel. Newcomers always welcome.

In May 2009, the club will celebrate 30 years of chess on the Curragh.


Posted by mmcloughlin at August 31, 2008 09:00 AM