May 27, 2006

Killane Shield Final

Curragh v Rathmines,  27 May 2006

The Curragh won the Killane Shield for the second year in a row against all the odds by beating Rathmines in the final round.  The Curragh entered the competition with an almost completely different team to that which won the trophy last year and still came away with it in the end defeating stronger opposition from Elm Mount and St. Benildus in previous rounds. The final was played in the An Oige Hostel on Mountjoy Street under the watchful eye of Phibsboro Chess Club's Mick Germaine who organised the competition.

Round 1 Curragh



Round 2 Elm Mount


Curragh (won on board count)
Semi-Final Curragh


St. Benildus
Final Rathmines



The final round was an excellent result considering the team was outrated on four out of the five boards.

Curragh v Rathmines- Killane Shield - Final 27/5/2006
Peter Klompers 1466


John O'Connell  1444
Franco Rivera 1140


Pat McEvoy 1550
Niall O'Shea 1192


John Maher 1431
Dermot Earls 1220


Niall Whelan 1497
Hugues Hammouma 1230


Pat Freer 1406

Other players who participated in previous rounds were Brendan Duffy and Derek Stacey. Congratulations to all those involved and well done!

The club's successes are now as follows:




Team members

Killane Shield 2006 (knockout competition) 2005/06


P. Klompers, F. Rivera, N. O'Shea (capt), D. Earls, H. Hammouma, B. Duffy (sub), D. Stacey (sub).
Leinster League: Ennis Shield - Division 3 2005/06


R. Arundell (capt.), M. McLoughlin, N. Lynch, P. Klompers, D. Earls, F. Rivera, B. O'Connor (sub).
Killane Shield 2005 (knockout competition - inaugural year) 2004/05


R. Arundell, M. McLoughlin, N. Lynch (capt.), P. Klompers, D. Earls, D. Stacey (sub).
Leinster League: Bodley Cup - Division 6 1996/97


C. Talbot (capt), B. Tiernan, T. Byrne, B. Duffy, F. Johnston, K. Caraher.
Leinster League: O' Hanlon Cup- Division 4 1991/92


M. Wallace, T. Mellon, M. McLoughlin, B. O'Connor (capt), B. Jordan, T. Bermingham.

The club will  reopen on Thursday 7th September  2006 at 8 p.m. in the Curragh Branch Library - beside the Curragh Fire Station. The club will be entering teams in the Heidenfeld Trophy ( Division 2) and the O'Hanlon Cup (Division 4) of the Leinster Leagues so new players are very welcome.

Curragh handover1922.jpg

The handover of the Curragh, May 1922.



Posted by mmcloughlin at May 27, 2006 09:32 PM