librarys Banner
Kildare Collections
and Research Services
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Local Studies Department

Celbridge Poor Law Union - April 9th, 1842

Page 4 Column f

Poor Law Intelligence - Celbridge Poor Law Union

The following is a list of the newly elected Guardians for this Union. Celbridge has since the formation of the Union been a pattern to many others, in the manner the elections have been conducted and the good feeling that exists between all parties. It will be perceived by the following list that none but men of wealth and respectability have been elected.

Celbridge - Richard Maunsell and Henry Baker, Esqrs.

Straffan - Hugh Barton, Esq.

Lucan - Thomas R. Needham, Esq., Major Wills.

Clonsella - Thomas Wellan, Esq.

Saggard - John James Verschoyle, Esq.

Maynooth - Bartholomew Ellis, Thomas Donohoe, Esqrs.

Leixlip - Daniel Simmonds, Esq.

Donadea - William Coates, Esq.

Donacumpher - Henry Hobart, Esq.

Kilcock - John Aylmer, Edward Colgan, Esqs.

Rathcoole - James Shiel, Esq.

Roddenstown - Councellor Arabin

Cloncurry - Henry Colgan, Esq.

Balraheen - Gerald Aylmer, Esq.

New Castle - Joseph Moore, Esq.

Naas Union - Election of Guardians.

The following persons have been publicly declared to be duly elected to fill the office of Poor Law Guardians, for the different divisions of the Naas Union.

Kill - Thomas Flanagan - Broguestown

Bodenstown - Benjamin Reid - Prospect

Naas - Patrick Lyon - Craddockstown, Terence McDonald - Jigginstown, James Murphy - Naas.

Rathmore - Bryan Dunne - Rathmore

Killashee - James Fitzpatrick - Newland

Carnalway - James Lawler - Rochestown mill

Gilltown - Patrick Ennis - Grangebeg

Kilcullen - John Doyle - Old Kilcullen

Usk - Anthony Cooper - Kilgowan

Clane - Charles White - Kilmurray

Timahoe - William Farrell - Staplestown, Michael Connor - Ballinafa

Downings - John Nevin - Prosperous

Caragh - Michael Tracy - Halverstown

Kilmeague - Robert White - Robertstown, James Dowling - Allenwood

Rathirnan - William Ryan - Ballymany

Old Connell - Nicholas Kearney - Mooretown

Newbridge - Cornelius Hannen - Kilbelan

Moorefield - Owen Conlan - Pollardstown

Kildare - Michael Lee and William Lee - Kildare

Ballysax - William Dunne Esq. - Tully house

Ballymore Eustace - Terence Quinn - Ballymore Eustace, Michael McCann - Ballymore Eustace.

Blessington - John Finnemore Esq., J.P. - Ballyward, George Robinson M.D. - Blessington.

Boystown - Lieut. - Colonel Henry Smith, Baltibeg, Chairman of the Board - Edward Beauman Esq., Ex-Officio Guardian, Fornaughts, Naas; Vice Chairman - M.C.C. Roberts Esq., Ex-Officio Guardian, Sallymount, Kilcullen; Deputy Vice Chairman - William Dunne Esq., Tully house, Kildare.