« Co. Kildare Online Electronic History Journal Home »


The Kildare Observer, October 17, 1891


The following from our district attended the funeral:-Athy – A Cummins.Baltinglass (Co. Wicklow) – Patrick Byrne, PLG; Andrew Kehoe, Peter Byrne, James Neill, John Neill, T Doyle, Michael J Doyle, Wm Finter, Patrick Byrne, jun; Jas Lynch, Patrick Lynch, John Geoghegan, Robt Wall, Patrick Slator, Edward Whittle, Charles Boland, P Coogan, John Hearne.Castlecomer INF – Martin Patrick Kenny, Laurence A Curran.Clane – J.D. White, Ed Kelly.Carbery Branch I N L – Martin O’Brien, Patrick Color, O Foran, F Bermingham, A Byan, M Murphy, R Boylan, T Boylan, J Hanley, A Hughes, B Graves.Celbridge Branch, INL – S Hayes, president; C McDonnell, secretary; P Kirwan.Killelan (Co. Kildare) GAA – Edward Lawler, Ml Nolan, Matthias Nolan, James Bourke, Wm Dowling.Kells – James Reilly, TC; PJ McDonald, TC Farrell Tully, Chairman Town Commissioners; Patrick Collins, TC; Luke Lynch.Kildare – John Heffernan, PLG; John Hackett, PLG; James Cleary, James Fitzpatrick, Michael Flood, Thomas Boland, Dr. Power, Patrick Hickey, A Fitzpatrick, John Moore, John Mooney, T Banon, John Butler, P Fay, Thomas Hughes, James Morony, M Hannon, M Mullens, Michael Cantwell, Thomas Darley, D Rankins, J Duggan, Robert Brierton, P Kean, William Bergin, P Purcell, G Knox, M Morgan, James Mooney.Kilcullen – Thomas Grady, James Boylan, Peter Dowling.Lucan Gaelic Athletic Association (Sarsfield) Branch – James O’Mahony, James Harris, Frank Murray, J Behan, James Rahilly, John Lalor, P Kearns, T Hughes, P Mangan, T Behan.Maryborough – George Fench, Henry Fench, Thomas Doherty, Mark Walsh, Nicholas Walsh, George Vanston, Thomas O’Neill, CTC; P. Kelly, TC; WH Cobb.Naas Irish National League – Dr. J Smyth, SJ Brown, solicitor; E Dowling, P Lawlor, Halverstown; Thomas Keating, Leinster Leader; TP Ronan, do; R Dorrian, MI Lynch, JJ Dowling, hon sec; E Dowling.Naas Town Commissioners – JP Bermingham, OTC; Denis Donohue, TC; Jas Conway, TC; Michael Gogarty, Town Clerk.Naas Labour Union – P McDonald, W Moran, M Donohoe, W Whelan, J Foley, J McGrath, P Farrell, T Gannon, W Shea, M Walsh, sec.; T McMahon, W Gaul, P Turner.There were also present from Naas – PJ Doyle, W Staples, A Dowling, C Black, VS; J Coady, Sallins; T Daly, do; J T McGrane, G Lombart, Egerton Jones, Jas Kennedy.Ballymore – JT Purcell.Newbridge Town Commissioners – J Malone, chairman; Thomas Copeland, PLG; John Dunn, Thos Kelly, Peter Tormey, Patrick Cor, Dr Richard Murphy, Joseph Farrell.Newbridge Parnell Leadership Committee – Wm Ryan, Thos Doyle, Thomas Hyland, Wm Sex, Thos Kelly, Robt Ganon, Francis Fleming, Thomas Murrin, James Kelly, John Tierney, PLG; John Kearney, John Hogan, Christopher Geraghty, Thos Kevins, George F Turner, John Boland, James Finlay, John Kelly, D Kelly, E Kelly, C Cox, Peter Brien, James Guinnane.Rathcoole Branch National League – Peter Vickers, PLG (president); James O’Connor (treasurer); James Lennon (hon sec), Laurence Parvey, John O’Connor, Thomas Egan, Wm Fyans, jun; Michael Dolan, Wm Gibney, Michael Dowling, John Lennon, Mathew Carty.Rathcoole Parnell Leadership Committee – James Sheil (president); Edward Shiel, PLG (treasurer); Jas Carthy (secretary); Nicholas Hamilton.

An extract from coverage in The Kildare Observer, October 17, 1891 of the funeral of C.S. Parnell, listing people from Kildare and surrounding areas who attended. Retyped by Aisling Dermody

Powered by
Movable Type 3.2