« Co. Kildare Online Electronic History Journal Home »


Congo bound

James Durney

In July 1960 Ireland began its first United Nations peace-keeping mission when the 32nd Infantry Battalion left Dublin for six months service in the former Belgian Congo. A month later another Irish battalion, the 33rd, left Baldonnel airdrome for the Congo as the security situation further deteriorated. The Leinster Leader of 3 September 1960 published a list of men based in the Curragh Camp who were serving with the 32nd and 33rd Battalions in the Congo. (Men serving in Naas and Kildare Barracks are not included.)

On Peace Mission in Congo

Officers, N.C.O.’s and men of the Curragh Camp who are in the Congo with the 33rd Battalion include the following:
Lt. Kevin Daly, Dublin Road, Naas; S.S. Ned Burke, 1446 Carna, Suncroft; S.S. James Byrne, Old Road, Kildare; S.S. James Morgan, James St., Newbridge; Cpl. John Allen, Grangemore, Kilcullen; Pte. Brian Deegan, 17 Pacelli Road, Naas; S.S. Patrick O’Brien, 837 Rathfield, Newbridge; B.S.M. Daniel Douglas, Main St., Portarlington; S.S. James Connolly, Castlesize, Sallins, Naas.
 Cpl. John Ging, Narraghmore, South Kildare; Pte. Robert Hall, 882 Rathfield, Droichead Nua; Pte. Nicholas McGlynn, 3 St. Patrick’s Terrace, Naas; Pte. Thomas Kelly, 633 St. Patrick’s Park, Celbridge; Cpl. Joseph O’Neill, 1434 Carna, Suncroft; Pte. Donal Conway, 1435 Carna, Suncroft; Pte. Micahel Ryan, 844 Piercetown, Droichead Nua; Cpl. Seamus Graham, 786 Rowanville, Kildare.
 Pte. Patrick Creighton, 62 St. Corban’s Place, Naas; Cpl. Michael J. Sparrow, 1761 Pairc Mhuire, Droichead Nua; Cpl. Thomas Sweeney, 834 Piercetown, Droichead Nua; Sean Caffrey, Branganstown, Kilcock; Pte. Michael Caffrey, do.; Pte. Joseph Leigh, Belan, Moone; Sgmn. Thomas J. Bevan, 13 B Block, Pearse Bks., Curragh; Sgmn Peter Foley, 37 Pacelli Road, Naas; Sgmn. James O’Neill, 31 St. David’s Terrace, Naas; Pte. Michael Walsh, 3 A Block, Clarke Bks., Curragh Camp.
 S.S. Thomas Talbot, Carna, Suncroft; Cpl. Timothy Durney, 1651 Pairc Mhuire, Droichead Nua; S.S. Stephen Dempsey, Iron Hills, Suncroft; S.S. Denis Reid, 1757 Pairc Mhuire, Droichead Nua; S.S. Eamonn Donohue, 811 Station Road, Droichead Nua; S.S. Patrick Cahill, Cowpasture, Monasterevan; S.S. William Canning, 1427 Carna, Suncroft.
 Cpl. Jas. Ging, Broomfield, Moone; Cpl. John Loughman, 751 Rowanville, Kildare; Sgt. Thomas Wilson, Hospital St., Kildare; S.S. Sean Cogan, Athgarvan; S.S. Christopher Ennis, Donaney, Co. Kildare; S.S. Michael Canning, 1427 Carna, Suncroft; Cre. Richard Hall, St. Patrick’s Terrace, Droichead Nua; Cpl. Edward Whitely, 893 Station Road, Droichead Nua.
 Cpl. Martin Thompson, Athgarvan, Curragh; Pte. William Brow, 1257 Campion Cottages, Kildare; Pte. James Caulfield, Knockroe, Maganey, Co. Kildare; Pte. Patrick Rooney, Kilmurry South, Kildare; Cpl. Peter Kavanagh, Ballantine, Kilmeague, Naas; Pte. Daniel Finn, 1470 Assumpta Villas, Kildare; Pte. Arthur Costello, 40 Pairc Brighde, Athy; Cpl. Patrick O’Sullivan, 548 Ballymanny, Droichead Nua.

32nd Battalion
N.C.O.’s and men from Eastern Command with the 32nd Battalion include:
Cpl. John Finlay, Main St., Celbridge; Pte. John Kelly, Maynooth; Pte. Edward Connolly, 350 Greenfield Cottage, Maynooth; Cpl. John McNair, 12 Davitt St., Tullamore; Pte. Joseph Sullivan, 30 Clontarf Road, Tullamore; Tpr. John Birchall, 20 Newtown Park, Tallaght; Cpl. James Ward, Woodlands, Castledermot; Gnr. Patrick Rock, Main St., Maynooth.

Curragh Camp
The following soldiers  from Curragh Camp are with the 32nd Battalion:
Sgt. Patrick Sludds, 3 James St., Droichead Nua; Sgt. Patrick O’Neill, 680 Ballymanny, Droichead Nua; Pte. Joseph Mallon, 215 Ballysax, Curragh; Cpl. Thomas Keogh, 802 Piercetown, Droichead Nua; Cpl. Patrick Durney, 1651 Pairc Mhuire, Droichead Nua; Pte. Edward McGahey, Maddenstown, Curragh; Pte. Michael Brown, 835 Piercetown, Droichead Nua.
 Pte. Patrick Hayes, 863 Rathfield, Droichead Nua; Cpl. Christopher Healy, 265 Demesne Terrace, Rathangan; Pte. Alfred Johnson, 4 Melitta Road, Kildare; Cpl. Thomas Sheehan, 27 O’Higgins Road, Curragh; Pte. Allan France, Roseberry Cottages, Droichead Nua; Pte. Maurice Gannon, Ballyshannon, Kilcullen; Cpl. Thomas O’Connor, 11 Fair View, Kildare.
 Tpr. Michael Creevy, 1 Dublin Road, Kildare; Tpr. Daniel Halloran, 10 C Block, Pearse Bks., Curragh Camp; Sgt. Noel Brick, 20 O’Higgins Road, Curragh; Cpl. William Bevan, 13 B Block, Md. Qrs., Pearse Bks., Curragh; Cpl. Patrick Gannon, Ballyshannon, Kilcullen.
 Cpl. Michael O’Sullivan, 3 Market Square, Droichead Nua; Pte. William Redmond, 1028 Nicholastown, Kilcullen; Cpl. Frank Fagan, The Barracks, Droichead Nua; Pte. John Hanlon, 1443 Carna, Suncroft; Pte. Michl. J. McLoughlin, 6 A Block, Md. Qrs., Pearse Bks., Curragh Camp; Pte. Patrick J. O’Neill, Cut Bush, Curragh; Pte. Christopher O’Rourke, Inchaquire, Ballitore.

A list of local men who left the Curragh Camp with the 32nd & 33rd Infantry Battalions  for six months service in the former Belgian Congo.

Powered by
Movable Type 3.2