« Co. Kildare Online Electronic History Journal Home »


Leinster Leader
The County Kildare Ploughing Championship held on Thursday, 24th inst, by the Tipperkevin and Rathmore Ploughing Committee for the second year in succession was a great success. The venue was a field lent by Mt. M. Murphy at Dowdenstown, Ballymore-Eustace. The layout was ideal. A short furrow and strict rules made a severe test for the ploughmen as every error came under the judges’ eyes.
Counties Dublin and Wicklow sent some of their best men for the open class but Kildare was also well to the fore. In the opinion of the judges and also of experienced onlookers the standard was exceptionally high, even in the novices and beginners classes. The morning was wet and blustery but improved in the afternoon, and large numbers of local people came to view the work. The experienced and energetic committee are to be congratulated on the excellent arrangements. The Naas Harriers, whose cup is a leading trophy in these events, paid a welcome visit to the field in hunting array with their handsome pack. They were entertained to refreshments by the committee.
The Manager of the Wexford Engineering Co., also visited the ploughing to see how the famous Star ploughs were faring.
The Naas Harriers’ Cup (Confined)-P. Brady, Rathmore, Naas.
Open Class-1. W. Murphy, Roundwood, Co. Wicklow; 2. Matthew Meleady, Rahan, Edenderry; 3. Patk. Brady.
County Championship-1. Matthew Meleady; 2. Patrick Brady; 3. James Lynch, Flemingtown, Naas.
Novices-1. John Sandall, Ballymore-Eustace; Peter Mc Evoy, Kilteel and John Mooney, Tipper East, tied for second place.
Beginners-1. Chas. Connor, Wolfstown, Naas; 2. Jerh.Foster, Dowdenstown;3. Patrick Clarke, Ballymore-Eustace.
The special prizes for shortest time in each group were won by Wm. Murphy, P. Brady, Peter Mc Evoy and C. Connor respectively.
Charles Keegan, Ballnagee Enniskerry, was best on the field under 21 years of age.
John Mooney won the county events for under 18 and 21; also the open for under 18. Wm. Murphy had the best middle and P. Brady the best furrow.
With the Star plough the best was J.F. Valentine, Carnalway, and the best with the Pierce plough was Wm. Murphy.
The prize for the best turn out was awarded to Mr. Henry Hill, Rathmore, Naas.
Two free Nominations, presented by T. Lyons, Hartwell, Kill, were won by Mr. Charles Connor (under £75) and Mr. Henry Hill, under £50.
Three men have been selected to represent Co. Kildare at the National Ploughing Championships at Balbriggan on February 7th-Matthew Meleady, Patk. Brady and John Mooney.
The committee was composed of:-
Messrs. John Downes, Newtown Gt., Chairman; Martin Murphy, Dowenstown, Vice-Chairman; Lce. Finn. Slieve Rue, Hon Treasurer; E. Kinsella, Hon. Secretary, J. Brophy, J. Murphy, T. Miley, P. Doran, B. Cassidy, W. Cassidy, M. Harney, P. Cassidy, H. Harney, R. Hill, J. Brady, K. Harney, T. Lyons, P. Burke, J. Doyle and J. Connor.
Mr. J. Crowley, B. Sc. Instructor in Agriculture, placed his valuable advice and experience at the disposal of the committee. Mr. O’Broin, Horticultural Instructor, also rendered assistance.
Excellent luncheons were provided by Miss Balfe, Blessington, and refreshments were supplied by Mr. J. Miley, Blessington.

A note from the pages of the Leinster Leader of 1946 on the Co. Kildare Ploughing Championships held near Ballymore-Eustace.

[compiled, typed and edited by Niamh McCabe]

Powered by
Movable Type 3.2