LADY HAIG’S TOUR. HER VISIT TO CO. KILDARE

September 16, 2017

LADY HAIG’S TOUR. HER VISIT TO CO. KILDARE

LEINSTER LEADER 2 MARCH 1929 LADY HAIG’S TOUR HER VISIT TO CO. KILDARE TRIBUTE TO IRISH BRAVERY Lady Haig, accompanied by her daughter, Lady Victoria Haig, arrived in Naas at 3 p.m. on Tuesday and was received at the local Ex-servicemen’s Memorial Hall by a joint committee of the men and women’s branch of the British Legion. A large crowd assembled inside and outside the Hall, and when her ladyship arrived there was a loud outburst of cheering and hand-clapping. […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

NEW PUBLICATION ON ERIC RIGBY-JONES

September 8, 2017

NEW PUBLICATION ON ERIC RIGBY-JONES

Best Love to All The WWI diaries of Eric-Rigby Jones, founder of the Irish Ropes company, have been recently published by his grandson, John Rigby-Jones. Best Love to All is an account of the experiences of Eric Rigby-Jones as a young officer on the Western Front with the Liverpool Pals. Based on his unpublished letters and diaries, it covers his participation in the battles of Arras and Ypres in 1917, the German Spring Offensive in 1918 and in Brussels after […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

VET KILLED BY KICK FROM MARE

September 8, 2017

VET KILLED BY KICK FROM MARE

Irish Press 13 August 1947 Vet killed by kick from mare Mr.  Joseph Francis Cosgrove, M.R.C.V.S., aged 26, died in the Drogheda Memorial Hospital at the Curragh yesterday, from injuries received when kicked by a brood mare. Mr. Cosgrove was the youngest son of Mr. Joseph Cosgrove, M.R.C.V.S., and Mrs. Cosgrove, Crotanstown House, Kildare and brother of Mr. Maxie Cosgrove, M.R.C.V.S., Parnell St., Dublin. He was a well-known amateur rider and was vice-captain of Cill Dara Golf Club.
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

CONSECRATION OF ST. JOHN’S CHURCH, KILL

September 8, 2017

CONSECRATION OF ST. JOHN’S CHURCH, KILL

Kildare Observer 29 December 1883 Consecration of St. John’s Church, Kill. After undergoing very considerable alterations this church was consecrated on Thursday last, St. Johns Day, by the Lord Archbishop of Dublin.  The interior was neatly decorated for the occasion with a quantity of Christmas roses and chrysanthemums, given by the Countess of Mayo, and looked remarkably well.  In 1827 it was rebuilt by John, fourth Earl of Mayo, the Rev. John Warburton being rector of the parish, but strange […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

SOLDIER AND SCHOLAR, OFFICER AND GENTLEMAN, WRITER AND HISTORIAN

September 8, 2017

SOLDIER AND SCHOLAR, OFFICER AND GENTLEMAN, WRITER AND HISTORIAN

Leinster Leader 12 October 2006 Tributes flow in honour of life and work of soldier and historian Con Costello  Tributes flowed this week for Naas historian Con Costello who died just days before he was due to attend a 50th anniversary reunion of the Army Apprentice School. Con, a retired Lieutenant Colonel, was the first officer to command the first ever class at the apprentice school at the former Devoy Barracks. He regularly led the mass parade and, sadly, was laid […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

THE CAPTURE OF NEW GUINEA. NAAS MAN’S EXPERIENCE

September 8, 2017

THE CAPTURE OF NEW GUINEA. NAAS MAN’S EXPERIENCE

The Kildare Observer 15 May 1915 From the Boundary of Civilisation Naas Man’s Experience The Story of the Capture of New Guinea Back from the borders of civilisation with experiences such as fall to the lot of young men of twenty-two, Mr. Peter Lawler, youngest son of Mrs. Lawler, Halverstown, Naas, told me a story during the week, which, for thrills, and as a veracious account of the conquest of the only bit of German territory that has yet fallen to […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

INTERPRETING THE CURRAGH 26 AND 27 AUGUST (HERITAGE WEEK)

August 24, 2017

INTERPRETING THE CURRAGH 26 AND 27 AUGUST (HERITAGE WEEK)

In conjunction with the Department of Arts, Heritage, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, The Heritage Council and Kildare County Council, the County Kildare Archaeological Society is delighted to host; Interpreting the Curragh and its environs on Saturday next 26 August and Sunday 27 August. Meeting points are (Saturday) at Ballymany and Sunday adjoining Cill Dara Golf Club, commencing at 2pm on both days. This is a very important event as it is an opportunity to visit one of Ireland’s outstanding and […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

BALLYSAX BRICK & TILE COMPANY and HERITAGE WEEK BRICK EXHIBITION

August 19, 2017

BALLYSAX BRICK & TILE COMPANY and HERITAGE WEEK BRICK EXHIBITION

Ballysax Brick & Tile Company Ballysax Brick and Tile was established on glacial tills of Ballysax south-east of Jockey Hall, the Curragh, by William Pallin who was better known as a pioneering bloodstock breeder with his main establishment at Athgarvan Lodge. While dates are uncertain it appears it was established when there was a great deal of building work underway at the Curragh Camp. The camp buildings which were built between 1880 and 1910 consumed millions of red bricks. Brickyards […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

NATIONAL HERITAGE WEEK LIBRARY EVENTS

August 16, 2017

NATIONAL HERITAGE WEEK LIBRARY EVENTS

National Heritage Week 19-27 August 2017 Library Events 19 August SATURDAY 11 a.m. Newbridge Library: The Book of Kildare and Other Stories – 25 GEMS from the Co. Kildare Local History Collection – a display/exhibition and talk on 25 unusual and little known items from the Local History Collection in Co. Kildare. Part of Creative Ireland: Kildare. Another brick in the wall, week-long exhibition of local and countrywide Irish bricks, by Liam Kenny. 20 August SUNDAY: 2-5 p.m. Kildare Cathedral: Medieval Miscellany […]
Read the full article...

Read the full article →

ANOTHER BRICK IN THE WALL …

August 16, 2017

ANOTHER BRICK IN THE WALL …

Another brick in the wall … exhibition in Newbridge Library, Heritage Week, 19-27 August 2017 by Liam Kenny Bricks built the Curragh Camp and many other buildings from cottages to schools in the Newbridge area. Newbridge Library will host a display of bricks made in Kildare, Dublin, Cork, Belfast and Cavan which were used locally. Bricks from the nearby Ballysax brickyard also feature. The exhibition can be viewed in Newbridge Library during usual opening hours.    
Read the full article...

Read the full article →