" /> Monasterevin Online: July 2006 Archives

« June 2006 | Main | August 2006 »

July 19, 2006

Lions Club Monasterevin / Portarlington Branch

Annual golf outing in aid of Lions Club charities takes place in Portarlington Golf Club on Thursday 20 July. 18 holes stableford, limited timesheet 2pm to 4.30pm.

Entries to Dick Somers at 045/529258 or 086 1969148. Hugh array of prizes.


Parish Lotto:  Numbers drawn on 11 July were 10, 16, 20, 23. Jackpot not won. Winners of E20 were R.Brennan & P.Mullen, E.McCormack, J.Freeman, C.McHale, P.Ryan. Jackpot now E3,000.

Ballykelly GFC & Community Council Developement Lotto: Numbers drawn on 10 July were 12, 16, 18, 24. Jackpot not won. Winners of E20 were E.Donohue, A.Brady, D.Coady, P.Doherty,F.Cooke. Jackpot now E7,750.

Monasterevin AFC

Monasterevin Schoolboys Soccer Club held its annual Open Day at Togher Road recently, the day was to celebrate another successful season and a most enjoyable time was had by all, the players, their families, friends, management and everybody who attended.The day took the form of a mini World Cup competition with two 5 a side tournaments taking place among the members.The players showed off their array of skills with some spectacular goals scored and some excellent football produced as the light hearted banter added to the fun day atmosphere. Other competitions were organised for younger players including skill-shot and penalty shoot-sut.Sincere thanks to Brendan Fahey, Old Grange Entertainment, who sponsored and presented winners and runners-up medals for all five competitions on the day.
Skill-Shot U10; 1st Adam Fogarty; 2nd Jack Kennedy; 3rd Ryan Duffy. U11; 1st Alan Duffy; 2nd Alex Sealey; 3rd Paddy Leahy. Penalty Shoot-Out; 1st Wayne Sharpe; 2nd Christopher Gratten; 3rd Paddy Leahy. Club Chairperson and under 16 manager Richard Kemmy thanked all who attended and also thanked the players from the U16, U14 and U12 squads for the work put in over the course of the season before presenting the under 16 team with their KDFL Cup Runners Up Medals. The Clubs recently appointed Child Welfare Officer, John Dunne was on hand to present the under 12 team with their KDSL Major Division Champions Medals and captain Joe Sharpe with the cup.
Thanks also to Jean Kemmy, Mary Dempsey, Yvonne Kaye and Corrine Cullen who took care of the catering and to Jimmy Heavey who refereed the competitions.
The Senior Club Awards Presentation took place that night in the Garden Room at the Hazel Hotel. A good night was had by all with music provided by Philip Kennedy. Senior A Player of the Year went to John Mulpeter, Senior B was awarded to Brian Mahon and Brian Kaye recieved the Club Person of the Year award.

St. Evins Golf Society Captains Day

St.Evins Golf Society -  The Captains Prize, Pat Ryan, was played on Friday 14 July in Portarlington Golf Club. Forty six members played in magnificant sunshine and many players had high scores.  After a great days of golf the Society had a dinner in the club at which the Captain Pat Ryan presented to the prizes to the winners. He thanked the committee and all who helped to organise the event. He also thanked the sponsors who make the event and all the other outings possible. Pat also thanked the committee members who brought extra prizes on the day. The winner of the captains prize was the very popular Matt Loneregan with 44 points. Runner up Christy Loneregan with 42 points, Third place Mick Browne, 4th Stepen ORourke, 5th Sean Ryan, Gross Kevin Connolly, Past Captain / Presidents Jimmy Lawless, Front Nine Mary McLoughlin, Back Nine Pat Behan, Longest drive Kevin Connolly, Nearest the pin Jimmy Lawless, 6th Noel McAlinden, 7th Brian Lonegan, 8th Joe Monaghan, 9th Denis Connolly, 10thn Mick Dowling,11th Mick Dunne, 12th Fr.Merrigan,13th Ber Mooney, 14th Pat Garry, 15th Robbie Connolly, 16th John Bryrne, Visitor Pat Donlon. The day ended with a very enjoyable musical evening.

Monasteevin CYMS

A new committee has been formed with the view of fundraising and trying to make positive improvements on the CYMS Hall. The committee will hold a fundraiser on 27 August at the Curragh Race Course, more information on this event will be announced as soon as possible. Officers elected Chairman Donal Fitzpatrick, Secretary Sarah ONeill, Treasurer Jackie Kennedy

Test Event

the details of the event