Find, Request books and other items

librarys Banner
Readers' Pages
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text


The shortlists for the 2018 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals were announced last week. The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK’s oldest book awards for children and young people. Celebrating the best in children’s writing and illustration respectively, the Medals are unique in being judged by children’s librarians.

One of our favourites, Patrick Ness is in the running for his third Carnegie Medal win with Release, which would make him the first author to secure a hat-trick in the Medal’s 81-year history. To date, he has been shortlisted for all seven of his children’s books and won twice, with A Monster Calls (2012) and Monsters of Men (2011). The other fantastic authors include teen-rapper-turned-debut-author Angie Thomas (The Hate U Give),  previous winner Geraldine McCaughrean (Where the World Ends), Marcus Sedgwick (Saint Death), former shortlistees Lauren Wolk (Beyond the Bright Sea) and Lissa Evans (Wed Wabbit), and Will Hill (After the Fire) and Anthony McGowan (Rook).

There are three author-illustrators on the Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist: Debi Gliori’s Night Shift, Pam Smy’s Thornhill and Britta Teckentrup’s Under the Same Sky are shortlisted for the quality of their illustration, but in all three cases the illustrators have also written the books. They are joined on the shortlist by former Kate Greenaway winner Levi Pinfold, with one of his first commissions to illustrate a novel (The Song from Somewhere Else), and picture book offerings from Laura Carlin (King of the Sky), Petr Horáček (A First Book of Animals) and Sydney Smith (Town is by the Sea). Of the seven books, three illustrators have been shortlisted before (Pinfold, Gliori and Smith).



The Carnegie Medal 2018 shortlists are:

  • Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans (David      Fickling Books)
  • After the Fire by Will Hill (Usborne)
  • Where the World Ends by Geraldine      McCaughrean (Usborne)
  • Rook by Anthony McGowan      (Barrington Stoke)
  • Release by Patrick Ness      (Walker Books)
  • Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick      (Orion)
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas      (Walker Books)
  • Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk (Corgi)



The Kate Greenaway Medal 2018 shortlists are:

  • King of the Sky illustrated by Laura      Carlin and written by Nicola Davies (Walker Books)
  • Night Shift illustrated and      written by Debi Gliori (Hot Key Books)
  • A First Book of Animals illustrated by Petr      Horáček and written by Nicola Davies (Walker Books)
  • The Song from Somewhere Else illustrated by Levi      Pinfold and written by A.F. Harrold (Bloomsbury)
  • Town is by the Sea illustrated by Sydney      Smith and written by Joanne Schwartz (Walker Books)
  • Thornhill illustrated and      written by Pam Smy (David Fickling Books)
  • Under the Same Sky illustrated and      written by Britta Teckentrup (Little Tiger)

Back to other News Items