Press Releases/Adverts Banner Press Releases
and Adverts

Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Home : Press Releases/Adverts

Pride of Place and Tidy Towns Awards

Prize-winners gathered at Maynooth University on Thursday evening November 1st, to reap the fruits of their work in the County Kildare Pride of Place and Tidy Towns competitions. Kildare County Council hosted a prize-giving ceremony for the winners who included young people, gardeners, residents associations and Tidy Towns committees from across the county.

The Mayor of Kildare, Councillor Sean Power presented the prizes. He thanked the groups and individual citizens who had taken part, for their work and achievements in their neighbourhoods.

This is the twenty-fourth year of the competition for tidy local authority housing estates. Prizes were awarded for voluntary work, community involvement and environmental impact. This year there were 26 entries representing over 50 estates, 18 prizes were presented in this category. 10 prizes were awarded in the Best-Kept-Garden competition.

This is the sixteenth year of the county council’s special awards scheme for young people who make an outstanding contribution to community life.  9 young people were recognised for their contributions in making their communities great places to live.

Kildare’s Tidy Town groups were also recognised on the night for their ongoing work.  A total of 38 towns and villages entered the competition with all towns and villages increasing in points. A total of ten medals were awarded five gold, three silver and two bronze medals. The three year partnership agreement with Kildare County Council and Kildare GAA continues.  All star and former Kildare Senior Football captain Johnny Doyle continues to support and play a pivotal role in this agreement.  Two Tidy Towns Networking meetings were held in Kildare County Council in January & March 2018. These events were welcomed by all Tidy Towns Networking participants and committee members. All of these talks and presentations were chosen to educate, inform and encourage participants to improve their marks in the competition.

All of the participating towns and villages in the Tidy Towns competition receive a grant from the Council.  Minister Ring also announced a special allocation of € 1.4 million to support the work of the individual Tidy Town Committees around the country in order to mark the 60th anniversary of the event.


Full list of prize-winners:

·         Kildare County Council, Pride of Place

·         Best Kept Gardens

·         Youth Endeavour Award

·         Tidy Towns

 ·        Tidy Towns Merit Award


Kildare County Council, Pride of Place results 2018:

Category 1 (1-20 Houses)

Winner:          Millview Milltown

Category 2 (21-40 Houses)

Runner up:     Castleroe West Maganey

Winner:          Wheatfield Ardclough

Category 3 (41-60 Houses)

3rd place:       Sarto Park Naas

Runner up:     St. Brigid’s tce Sallins

Winner:          Park View Clane

Category 4 (61 – 85 houses)

Runner up :    Coarsemoor, Lodge Park & St. Brigid's Tce Straffan

Winner:          St. Patrick’s Park Kill          

Category 5 (86 + houses)

3rd Place:       Avondale Leixlip

2nd Place:      St. Patrick's Park Celbridge

Winner:          William Pearse Terrace Castledermot


Community Development Category 2

Winner:          Ottomy Grove & Crescent, Clane


Community Development Category 1

2nd place        Ardrew Meadows Athy

Winner :         Woodstock Forum Athy


Other prizes

Highly Commended: Churchview Suncroft

Commended: Chorrchoill Prosperous

Commended:  Moatview/Newline Grove Kilmead


Age Friendly Award: Support for older residents in Maryville, Árdan Charmel Maryville Kildare town


Best Kept Gardens 2018

Jacinta Chambers Flinters Place Athy

Joe Dunne Ardrew Meadows Athy

Linda Foley Canal Walk Athy

Mary Higgins Sarto Park Naas

Anne Murphy  St. Brigid's Tce Sallins

Mrs Gammel Maryville Kildare

Tom O' Brien St. Patrick's Park Celbridge

Joe Geoghegan The Crescent Loughnamona Leixlip

Overall winner Mary Egan Park View Clane


Youth Endeavour Award 2018

Robin Whitston:                        Clane

Tosin Shokeye:                          Leixlip

Rachel O' Toole:                        Athy

Cian Gartland:                           Rathcoffey

Kerrymay Prenderville:              Leixlip

Levi Maher-Njadayi:                  Athy

Oliver Finneran:                         Ardclough

Leanne Fennell O' Rourke:       Athy

Leah Kearney Walsh:                Leixlip


Tidy Towns winners 2018

Bronze Medal winners

  • Clane
  • Rathangan

Silver Medal winners

  • Ballymore Eustace
  • Celbridge
  • Newbridge

Gold Medal winners

  • Maynooth
  • Naas
  • Kill
  • Straffan
  • Leixlip


Endeavour award for Kildare (for greatest improvement in marks from previous year)

  • Milltown increased by 16 points from 2017 an increase of (6.27%)


Special Awards

In the County Awards, Maynooth were overall winners, Naas were highly commended and Straffan commended

Naas also won the ‘Gum Litter Taskforce Award’ under the large Town & Urban Centre category.  Naas were also runners up in the ‘Clean Air Award’ sponsored by Department of Communications, Climate Action & Environment.  These awards were another well-deserved addition to the gold medal they have already maintained.

In addition to upgrading to a silver medal, Ballymore Eustace Tidy Towns were winners in the Midlands & East Region. They were awarded a ‘Water & Communities Award’ sponsored by Inland Fisheries Ireland, Waterways Ireland & the local Authority Waters & Communities Office.

The Kildare Tidy Towns Merit Awards for outstanding contributions to the work of the local Tidy Towns were awarded by Mayor & Councillor Sean Power to the following individuals;

John Keegan and Pat Molloy, Straffan Tidy Towns

Aileen Gorman, Rathangan Tidy Towns

Kevin Hurst, Carbury Tidy Towns

Moris O’Dea, Coill Dubh Tidy Towns

Andy Birchill, Kill Tidy Towns

Joe O’Sullivan, Ballymore Eustace Tidy Towns

Trish Buckley, Monastervin Tidy Towns

Joan Dunne, Bernadette Harrow & Sean Cleary, Timolin Tidy Towns

Tony McEvoy, Clane Tidy Towns

Seamus McCoy, Kilcullen, Tidy Towns and

Ger Kelly, Athy Tidy Towns.




Ends                                                                                                  02 November 2018



Back to other News Items